Present Day Pembroke Castle
After many years of laying in ruin under the ownership of the Pryse family from Gogerddan, plundered for stone by the locals, and a subject of many Romantic paintings, in the 1880s Pembroke Castle was leased by the antiquarian J. R. Cobb who restored part of the castle. It was in 1928, however, when local landowner Major-General Sir Ivor Philipps, bought the castle, that it was restored it to its former glory. By the outbreak of World War II, restoration work was complete.
In 1969, the daughter of Sir Ivor Philipps, Mrs Basil Ramsden, put the castle into a Private Charitable Trust, administered by members of the family, and representatives of Pembroke Town.
Our aims are to conserve and protect this magnificent ancient monument for present and future generations and to inform and enthuse our visitors in respect of the Castle's history in a safe and accessible way.
Over the past 10 years much effort has been made to bring the history of the castle to life. In this respect the visitor will find an exhibition room telling the fascinating history of the castle from the arrival of Arnulf de Montgomery to the present day, in addition there are a number of exciting tableaux depicting various moments in the castle's history such as the birth of Henry VII. The castle, cafe, and a well stocked gift shop are open all year, and the Hall of Names and Brass Rubbing Centre are open during the summer months and at other times by arrangement.